The Bigger the Better

It’s time to get your red-carpet do’s ready for the party season, so today at work I tried out a little Granny chic with a beehive bouffant. It instantly added a touch of glamour to what I was wearing, in fact I was bowled over to see how much a hair style can change an outfit. It went down a treat with the work colleagues as well, with some people saying I was channeling Charlize Theron on the red carpet (I’ll take that!)

A bouffant is no bouffant without some serious volume, so my first step was to run a plumping complex through my damp hair before blow drying it with my head down and hair flipped over for extra oomph. I love Fekkai’s Full Blown Volume Styling Whip (£20 spacenk.co.uk) and not just for the name. It’s light weight and doesn’t leave your hair feeling like straw.

Because my hair already had so much volume thanks to the styling whip, I only had to lightly back comb my hair from the front to the crown. I prefer to use my trusty Bumble and Bumble Flat Classic Brush (£49 spacenk.co.uk) when I’m not aiming to tease my hair intensely, so I limit any damage to the hair shaft. It’s also a great brush to use to smooth it back, but make sure you don’t brush too much of the back combing out, just enough so that the surface looks polished.

Once I had the desired look, I simply twisted my ponytail to form a bun and secured into place with hair grips. If you prefer a laid back 70s look, smooth out the ponytail and secure at the nape of your neck.

Finally, Moroccan Oil Luminous Hairspray (£16.65 feelunique.com) is currently my favourite spritz to set any style in place. Not only does it have the luminous shine of argan oil and a reflective shield to help guard against humidity and frizz, it brushes out easily without leaving any sticky residue.

Oh, did I mention that it took me about 6 minutes to create this look?!

Charlize Theron

Scarlett Johansson

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, TRYING TRENDS

Leave a Reply

